Archive

Archive for March 7, 2015

In Ellen Pao’s Suit Vs. Kleiner Perkins, World Of Venture Capital Is Under Microscope


In Ellen Pao’s Suit Vs. Kleiner Perkins, World Of Venture Capital Is Under Microscope
Ellen Pao got a lot of advice about how to succeed in the clubby, hypercompetitive, overwhelmingly male world of venture capital. Which is why she took them to court.

March 7, 2015 at 10:30PM
via Digg http://ift.tt/1Nm5pdw

Categories: Internet Tags: , ,

M 4.7 – 253km E of Amahai, Indonesia

DYFI? – I

Time
2015-03-08 01:24:57 UTC
2015-03-08 10:24:57 +09:00 at epicenter
Location
3.624°S 131.177°E
Depth
35.00 km (21.75 mi)

from USGS Magnitude 4.5+ Earthquakes, Past Hour http://ift.tt/1Gd8ffo
via IFTTT

Categories: earthquakes, Internet Tags: ,

On the Case at Mount Sinai, It’s Dr. Data by STEVE LOHR


By STEVE LOHR

Jeffrey Hammerbacher, who started Facebook’s data science team, now uses his skills to improve medical treatments, a switch inspired by his own health crisis.

Published: March 7, 2015 at 06:00PM

from NYT Technology http://ift.tt/1x4x4VM
via IFTTT

Categories: Internet Tags: ,

M 4.7 – 1km SSE of Sorsogon, Philippines

DYFI? – IV

Time
2015-03-07 22:53:07 UTC
2015-03-08 06:53:07 +08:00 at epicenter
Location
12.959°N 124.001°E
Depth
62.93 km (39.10 mi)

from USGS Magnitude 4.5+ Earthquakes, Past Hour http://ift.tt/1KDIGul
via IFTTT

Categories: earthquakes, Internet Tags: ,

M 6.0 – 208km ESE of Kimbe, Papua New Guinea

PAGER – GREEN ShakeMap – IV DYFI? – I

Time
2015-03-07 22:18:58 UTC
2015-03-08 08:18:58 +10:00 at epicenter
Location
6.550°S 151.737°E
Depth
23.40 km (14.54 mi)

from USGS Magnitude 4.5+ Earthquakes, Past Hour http://ift.tt/1Gcxf6q
via IFTTT

Categories: earthquakes, Internet Tags: ,

The Transhumanist Who Would Be President


The Transhumanist Who Would Be President
An interview with Zoltan Istvan.

March 7, 2015 at 04:07PM
via Digg http://ift.tt/1Eo8uHl

Categories: Internet Tags: , ,

Media hacking – In Beta- – Medium


Media hacking – In Beta- – Medium
Media Hacking refers to the usage and manipulation of social media and associated algorithms to define a narrative or political frame. Individuals, states, and non-state actors are increasingly using Media Hacking techniques to advance political agendas.

March 7, 2015 at 03:25PM
via Digg http://ift.tt/1EBQS9x

Categories: Internet Tags: , ,